Overcomer

I love the song Overcomer by Mandissa. The journey I have been on this past year and 3 months has all been about overcoming. Today has been the best day for good news! I have been on Metformin for my diabetes for 14 months and today the Dr. Said the magic words (not so magic because it was all dedication and hard work) “I am taking you off your Metformin, and I would call you a non-diabetic”. I know I will always have this disease but being able to manage it with diet and exercise is words I have longed to hear! The woman that was beaten down and discouraged thinking it was too big a mountain to climb reached the top today! I know I will have to continue working at these new healthy habits I am forming but it’s a lifestyle change I wanna continue. There is no magic pill, or bullet it’s just plain ol hard work. Tracking my food and exercising everyday will have to be a part of my life for the long haul for me to remain an overcomer. I’m not there yet though. I still have 32 lbs. to go til I reach my goal. I recently posted about what I learned at church camp well the lessons keep coming. God has been revealing to me more and more that I am like an addict when it comes to food, especially certain foods. No longer has “following the rules” been working. These last 32 pounds seem to be hanging on. I have managed the food and fitness, now it’s down to heart issues. Sunday during Sunday school this passage jumped out at me

1 Timothy 4:8 For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come. 9 This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance. 10 That is why we labor and strive, because we have put our hope in the living God, who is the Savior of all people, and especially of those who believe.

15 Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. 16 Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.

I know I am not using this totally in context but it really spoke to me. We had just gotten back from our Hawaiian vacation and I have been allowing some old habits to creep back in. I realized one night as I was eating a piece of my daughters birthday cake (best ever) that it was like a drug for me. I had my small piece and had to literally tell my husband to remove the rest because and I quote “take that and throw it away because for me its like cocaine is to a druggie”. You see I had been doing all this physical training, and I was checking the boxes with my food but that only gets you so far. I need heart changes. I have such a struggle when it comes to breads and sugars. I keep,reading article after article on how refined sugar effects the body and its cravings. I recently red an article in the National Geographic about sugar and its addictive properties and how much of it we as Americans consume. Sunday reminded me I have to be diligent and train not only the physical and mental, I also have to train the spiritual. If I am ever going to be delivered from the cravings of the flesh I have to surrender it. Every morning since vacation I have said “I am starting today, I’m going to detox my body from all these sugars and carbs so I can get back on track.” Fast forward to today…..I have had fasting on my mind. I kept feeling the nudge to fast from the processed food and sugary things I have been eating. This morning my devotional was about; fasting. You see I don’t just need to fast from food so I can say no I need to fast so I will can find my satisfaction in my Savior. You see I train everyday for the physical but I need to train for the spiritual. I am at the end of day 1 having fasted from the “junk” and I am having to fully rely on God for my desires.

“But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of The Lord, knowing that your toil is not in vain in The Lord. 1 Chor. 15:57-8.

You see through Him I AM AN OVERCOMER!

Here are the words to my knew theme song! (I also have attached a link)

Keep moving forward,
Cathy
(I am still on cloud 9)

Staring at a stop sign
Watching people drive by
T Mac on the radio
Got so much on your mind
Nothing’s really going right
Looking for a ray of hope

Whatever it is you may be going through
I know He’s not gonna let it get the best of you

You’re an overcomer
Stay in the fight ‘til the final round
You’re not going under
‘Cause God is holding you right now
You might be down for a moment
Feeling like it’s hopeless
That’s when He reminds You
That you’re an overcomer
You’re an overcomer

Everybody’s been down
Hit the bottom, hit the ground
Oh, you’re not alone
Just take a breath, don’t forget
Hang on to His promises
He wants You to know

The same Man, the Great I am
The one who overcame death
Is living inside of You
So just hold tight, fix your eyes
On the one who holds your life
There’s nothing He can’t do
He’s telling You

Overcomer

Leave a Reply

