52 Reasons

I recently bought a deck of blank cards…and yes they were blank.  Several years ago during a season of being controlled by worry I made a notecards with scripture and things relating to conquering it.  I carried it everywhere and it was a great tool to break free from the bondage of worry.  I was thinking about that and decided I needed one for motivation and weight loss tips.  After researching on pinterest (a great place to get encouragement to eat healthy and exercise).   I came up with the deck of cards idea (who knew they sold blank ones on amazon).  It has been such positive reinforcement for me.  At any given time you can find one of those cards with me.  I thought I would share some of my favorites.

Overtime your tempted to react in the same old way, ask yourself…..do you want to be a prisoner of the past.

I was made for  more than to be stuck in this mountain of defeat.  Turn North! Deuteronomy 2:3

We’ll never make it to our milestones if we can’t make it through our moments.

I’m not here to be average, I’m here to be AWESOME.

Eat clean 80/20 (Still struggle with that one…)

Give God your weakness and He will give you His strength!

You’ve come to far in life to take orders from a cookie. (for years I took orders from the pantry and the cravings)

Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed!

and my favorite as of today…..This is NOT how the story ends!

Not sure the story is ever over but I am learning to manage this life and the body that God gave me for his glory.

Use whatever tools you can find to motivate you!  I find I am able to fight the battle when I am positively focused on the path ahead thinking “I can do this”.  I know I would  not be able to do this without the support and encouragement from friends and family.  I have enlisted their help along the way to help keep me honest.  I will leave you with a funny one that happened last week.  The family all went to eat Barbecue and this place has the best cobbler (my weakness).  I convinced my daughter to split one with me and she said yes (after the pleading eye look).  I was enjoying my first couple bites and my phone buzzes and I of course ignore it.  My son says hey mom look at your phone, I get a puzzled look and pick the phone up.  There was a text from him with my weight……I had a choice…get mad at him for pointing that out because who is he to be telling me that…. or take it as admonishment and a gentle reminder….  You see I had been complaining about not losing weight all week and he decided to text me my weight.  I died laughing (the old me would have killed him for pointing that out).  He has been on this journey with me and knows how I struggle.  The point is do whatever it takes to reach out or come alongside someone and encourage them.  We all need reminders and something to keep us on track.  I read somewhere that it takes 4 positive thoughts to negate 1 negative one.  I now have 52 reasons and a whole lot more to wake up each day and be armed and ready to fight the battle.

Blessings, Cathy

Leave a Reply

